Coverage designed with you in mind

It's important to find car insurance that fits you and your life. But, you also have to consider your state's requirements. Unlike most states, New Hampshire law does not require drivers to purchase auto insurance coverage. However, drivers without car insurance are personally responsible for medical bills or property damage expenses incurred after a car accident.

Finding the right car insurance for you means staying up to date on New Hampshire requirements. The table below lists the coverages and minimum coverage limits that are required in New Hampshire. Keep in mind, however, that minimum coverage limits are just a starting point. You may want to consider increasing your coverage limits for greater protection.

you're looking at auto requirements in New Hampshire

Pick a new state to see its laws:

New Hampshire car insurance state minimums

Coverage type
State requirements

Bodily injury liability
Helps cover expenses related to the injury or death of another driver or a pedestrian when an accident is your fault.

$25,000 limit per person/$50,000 limit per accident

Property damage liability
Helps cover expenses related to the damage of another person's property — like vehicles, homes, buildings and other structures — when an accident is your fault.

$25,000 limit

Uninsured motorist
Helps cover your medical expenses if you're in an accident, the other driver is at fault and doesn't have any insurance.

$25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident; $25,000 property damage

Underinsured motorist
Helps cover your medical expenses if you're in an accident, the other driver is at fault and doesn't have enough liability insurance.

$25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident

Medical payments
If you and/or your passengers are hurt in an accident, this helps cover medical or funeral expenses.

$1,000

Collision
Helps cover expenses to repair or replace your vehicle that's been damaged in an accident.

Not required¹

Comprehensive
Helps cover expenses to repair or replace your vehicle that's been stolen or damaged by things like storms or vandalism.

Not required¹

All coverages are subject to the coverage limits stated in your policy.

¹Although New Hampshire law does not require drivers to carry this coverage, it may be required by your lender if you are leasing or financing your vehicle.

get an auto quote

Drive with quality coverage on your side. Allstate auto insurance can help you stay protected on the road!

Other types of car insurance coverage in New Hampshire

Allstate also offer these other types of car insurance coverage:

  • Roadside coverage
  • Ride For Hire®
  • Rental reimbursement coverage

Learn about these and other car insurance coverage types available.

New Hampshire car insurance discounts

It’s possible to get quality coverage at a lower rate than you might think. When you get a quote for New Hampshire auto insurance from Allstate, you may be eligible for discounts that could help you save. Some available discounts can include:

  • Multiple policy / bundling discount
  • New car discount
  • Early Signing Discount®
  • Responsible payer discount
  • Smart student discount

Review the different types of car insurance discounts tailored to you and enjoy savings without cutting coverage.

Insurance bundling discounts

Allstate offers discounts for having multiple polices together, when you need multiple types of protection — for instance, bundling your auto and homeowners insurance could save you up to 9%*. When you bundle multiple Allstate insurance policies, you can quickly access them with a single sign-in, where you can review your coverages and make payments.

Factors that can impact your car insurance rates in New Hampshire

In addition to selecting the coverages, limits and deductibles that’s right for you, these factors could also affect your car insurance rates in New Hampshire:

  • The type of car you’re insuring (year, make, model)
  • Your driving habits and annual mileage
  • Demographic factors, like zip code
  • Any discounts you may qualify for

Learn more about these factors that could impact your car insurance premium.

New Hampshire’s rules on electronic proof of insurance

If you are stopped by the police and asked to show proof of insurance, you may wonder if you need to find a paper copy of your insurance card, or if you can use an electronic version. In New Hampshire, you are allowed to show an electronic copy of your insurance card on your mobile device.

You can use the Allstate Mobile App for iPhone® and Android® to access a digital ID card.