Getting car insurance in Utah
Finding the right car insurance for you means staying up to date on Utah requirements. The table below lists the coverages and minimum coverage limits that are required in Utah. Keep in mind, however, that minimum coverage limits are just a starting point. You may want to consider increasing your coverage limits for greater protection.
Utah car insurance state minimums
Bodily injury liability
$25,000 limit per person/$65,000 limit per accident
Property damage liability
Personal injury protection
All coverages are subject to the coverage limits stated in your policy.
¹Although Utah law does not require drivers to carry this coverage, it may be required by your lender if you are leasing or financing your vehicle.
Other types of car insurance coverage in Utah
Utah car insurance discounts
It's possible to get quality coverage at a lower rate than you might think. When you get a quote for Utah auto insurance from Allstate, you may be eligible for discounts that could help you save. Some available discounts can include:
- Multiple policy / bundling discount
- Early Signing Discount®
- Responsible payer discount
- Smart student discount
Review the different types of car insurance discounts tailored to you and enjoy savings without cutting coverage.
Insurance bundling discounts
Allstate offers discounts for having multiple polices together, when you need multiple types of protection — for instance, bundling your auto and homeowners insurance could save you up to 15%*. When you bundle multiple Allstate insurance policies, you can quickly access them with a single sign-in, where you can review your coverages and make payments.
Factors that can impact your car insurance rates in Utah
In addition to selecting the coverages, limits and deductibles that's right for you, these factors could also affect your car insurance rates in Utah:
- The type of car you're insuring (year, make, model)
- Your driving habits and annual mileage
- Demographic factors, like zip code
- Any discounts you may qualify for
Learn more about these factors that could impact your car insurance premium.
Utah's rules on electronic proof of insurance
If you are stopped by the police and asked to show proof of insurance, you may wonder if you need to find a paper copy of your insurance card, or if you can use an electronic version. In Utah, you are allowed to show an electronic copy of your insurance card on your mobile device.
Save more with car sharing
Make your trips more rewarding with Avail, protected by Allstate. Avail connects trusted drivers with great cars owned by real people. Borrow a car or share your own for free parking and extra income. Insurance from Allstate included with every trip.