Back to top


Virginia Car Insurance

Be protected on the road.

When it comes to auto insurance, every state is different. Unlike most states, Virginia law does not require drivers to purchase auto insurance coverage. However, drivers without car insurance must pay an uninsured motorist vehicle fee upon renewal of their vehicle registration with the state each year. Uninsured drivers in Virginia are personally responsible for medical bills or property damage expenses incurred after a car accident.

If you purchase car insurance in Virginia, certain types of coverage and coverage amounts are required. These are shown in the table below. These requirements are just a starting point — you may want to purchase additional coverage or increase your coverage limits.

protection you need
new low rates you want

With Allstate you expect better coverage and better service. Well, now you can also expect a better price in Virginia because we've lowered our rates even more.

quote now
woman driving car.
State Map

Auto insurance requirements are based on your location. You're looking at auto requirements in Virginia. Pick a new state to see its laws:

Coverage Type
Virginia Requirements1
Bodily Injury Liability
Helps cover expenses related to the injury or death of another driver or a pedestrian when an accident is your fault.
$25,000 limit per person/$50,000 limit per accident
Property Damage Liability
Helps cover expenses related to the damage of another person's property—like vehicles, homes, buildings and other structures—when an accident is your fault.
$20,000 limit
Uninsured Motorist
Helps cover medical expenses if you're in an accident, the other driver is at fault and doesn't have any insurance.
Bodily injury: $25,000 limit per person/$50,000 limit per accident
Property damage: $20,000 limit
Underinsured Motorist
Helps cover medical expenses if you're in an accident, the other driver is at fault and doesn't have enough insurance.
Grouped with uninsured motorist coverage.
Medical Payments
If you and/or your passengers are hurt in an accident, this can cover your medical or funeral expenses.
Not required
Collision
Helps cover expenses to repair or replace your vehicle that's been damaged in an accident.
Not required2
Comprehensive
Helps cover expenses to repair or replace your vehicle that's been stolen or damaged by things like storms or vandalism.
Not required2


All coverages are subject to the coverage limits stated in your policy.

1Motorists can drive uninsured if they opt to pay the Uninsured Motorist Vehicle (UMV) Fee.

2Although Virginia law does not require drivers to carry this coverage, it may be required by your lender if you are leasing or financing your vehicle.



Family relaxes in living room while looking at their phones and computers.

Driving less? Start saving more.

With pay-per-mile car insurance you only pay for the miles you drive and receive the same trusted coverage from Allstate.

Learn more


Related Resources

State chart requirements provided for informational purposes only. State minimums and required coverages vary by state and may change from time to time. Check with your state for up-to-date information or if you have questions about current state minimums.

Subject to terms, conditions, and availability. In most states, prices vary based on how you buy. Policy issuance is subject to qualifications. Allstate Insurance Company, Allstate Indemnity Company, Allstate Property and Casualty Insurance Company, Allstate Fire and Casualty Ins. Co. & affiliates; Northbrook, IL. © 2021 Allstate Insurance Company

Many factors go into the cost of your auto insurance policy, including how you purchase the policy: online, through a call center, or with an agent.

ECC Monitor: OK