Back to top
  Try Smart Search An intelligent search tool to help you find the info you're looking for. Try it now
< Start Over Welcome to Smart Search Quickly locate tools, tips, resources, insurance information and more. Smart Search For example: car insurance tips or common claims Popular Searches


New Hampshire Auto Insurance

LEARN ABOUT YOUR STATE'S CAR INSURANCE LAWS

It's important to find car insurance that fits you and your life. But, you also have to consider your state's requirements. Unlike most states, New Hampshire law does not require drivers to purchase auto insurance coverage. However, drivers without car insurance are personally responsible for medical bills or property damage expenses incurred after a car accident.

If you purchase car insurance in New Hampshire, certain types of coverage and coverage amounts are required. These are shown in the table below. You may be able to purchase additional types of car insurance coverage, as well as increase your coverage limits to help better protect you and your vehicle.

Contact a New Hampshire Allstate agent to better understand the different types of coverage in your area.


State Map

Auto insurance requirements are based on your location. You're looking at auto requirements in New Hampshire. Pick a new state to see its laws:

Coverage Type
New Hampshire Requirements1
Bodily Injury Liability
Helps cover expenses related to the injury or death of another driver or a pedestrian when an accident is your fault.
Not required.
Minimum coverage limits available: $25,000 limit per person/$50,000 limit per accident
Property Damage Liability
Helps cover expenses related to the damage of another person's property — like vehicles, homes, buildings and other structures — when an accident is your fault.
Not required.
Minimum coverage limits available: $25,000 limit
Uninsured Motorist
Helps cover your medical expenses if you're in an accident, the other driver is at fault and doesn't have any insurance.
Not required. If you buy auto insurance, limits will be equal to liability coverage limits.
Underinsured Motorist
Helps cover your medical expenses if you're in an accident, the other driver is at fault and doesn't have enough liability insurance.
Grouped with uninsured motorist coverage.
Medical Payments
If you and/or your passengers are hurt in an accident, this helps cover medical or funeral expenses.
$1,000 minimum limit required if you buy liability coverage.
Collision
Helps cover expenses to repair or replace your vehicle that's been damaged in an accident.
Not required2
Comprehensive
Helps cover expenses to repair or replace your vehicle that's been stolen or damaged by things like storms or vandalism
Not required2


All coverages are subject to the coverage limits stated in your policy.

1https://www.nh.gov/insurance/consumers/documents/nh_auto_guide.pdf

2Although New Hampshire law does not require drivers to carry this coverage, it may be required by your lender if you are leasing or financing your vehicle.

Related Resources

Agents are Here to Help Near
State chart requirements provided for informational purposes only. State minimums and required coverages vary by state and may change from time to time. Check with your state for up-to-date information or if you have questions about current state minimums.

Coverage subject to terms, conditions, and availability. Policy issuance is subject to qualifications. Allstate Insurance Company, Allstate Indemnity Company, Allstate Fire and Casualty Insurance Company, Allstate Property and Casualty Insurance Company, Northbrook, IL. © 2018 Allstate Insurance Company, Northbrook, IL.

";
ECC Monitor: OK