Back to top

West Virginia Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Laws

Smart Search Smart Search
  Try Smart Search An intelligent search tool to help you find the info you're looking for. Try it now
Smart Search
< Start Over Welcome to Smart Search Quickly locate tools, tips, resources, insurance information and more. Smart Search For example: car insurance tips or common claims Popular Searches

Driving Laws That Help Teens Learn.

Laws are based on your current location.

US map with West Virgina highlighted.


Car crashes are the number one killer of teens in the nation1. Each year, more than 3,000 teenagers are killed in motor vehicle crashes2 and nearly 450,000 are injured3, but with the right training and education, you can help lower your teen's risk. Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws are designed to help young drivers earn skills and experience before gaining full driving privileges. It's important to discuss these laws with your teen because research has shown GDL laws can reduce crash rates among 16-year-old drivers by almost 43%4.

In 2012, President Obama signed the Transportation Reauthorization bill into law. It includes incentive grants for states that adopt GDL laws. Allstate is committed to encouraging every state to adopt these new teen driving safety standards.

West Virginia Graduated Driver Licensing Provisions

 
 
Minimum age
15 years old
Learner stage duration
6 months
Required supervised driving hours
50 hours, 10 of which must be at night without driver's ed.;
0 hours with driver's ed.
Nighttime driving restriction
10 p.m. to 5 a.m.
Passenger restriction
(family members are exempt unless otherwise noted)
No passengers under 20 years old during the first 6 months; No more than 1 passenger under 20 years old during the second 6 months
Minimum age for full-privilege driving
17 years old


For more teen driving and GDL information, see the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety's listing of GDL laws.

Learn more about West Virginia licensing requirements and teen driving in West Virginia.

Go The Extra Mile For Teen Safety.

GDL laws are a great start, but you can do even more to help keep your teen safe. If you're shopping for a new car your teen will drive, be sure to find one with a high safety rating. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety can help you learn more about vehicle safety ratings and features.

Your Allstate® agent can be a resource for safe driving information. An agent can provide you with information about insuring your teen driver so you can make an informed decision about the right limits and deductibles for you.

Young Driver Discounts.

There are many opportunities to save when you're adding a new driver to your auto insurance policy. Ask your agent about student discounts, multi-car discounts and more.

Find an agent for more information about teen driving safety, available discounts and changing your insurance policy.

ECC Monitor: OK