Back to top

Graduated Driver Licensing laws in New Hampshire

Driving teens to drive safely

There's a lot to learn when your teen's just starting out on the road. Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws are designed to equip young drivers with the skills and experience required when earning an official license. Car crashes are the number one killer of teens in the nation1, but you can help lower your teen driver's risk by educating them on the importance of GDL laws and safe driving.

A teenage driver smiles as she sits behind the wheel of her car.

Get an auto quote.

Drive with quality coverage on your side. Allstate auto insurance can help you stay protected on the road.

Get a quote
State Map

You're looking at GDL requirements in New Hampshire. Pick another state to see requirements in:

New Hampshire Graduated Driver Licensing Provisions

Minimum age
15 years and 6 months old2
Learner stage duration
Required supervised driving hours
40 hours, 10 of which must be at night
Nighttime driving restriction
1 a.m. to 4 a.m
Passenger restriction
(family members are exempt unless otherwise noted)
No more than 1 passenger under 25 years old during the first 6 months
Minimum age for full-privilege driving
Full passenger privileges at 6 months or 18 years old (whichever comes first);Full nighttime privileges at 18 years old

Learn more about New Hampshire licensing requirements, teen driving in New Hampshire and the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety's GDL laws.

On the road to safer driving

In addition to GDL laws, you play a role in your teen's driving safety too. It's important to consider car safety features if shopping for a vehicle for your new driver. Check out vehicle safety ratings and features from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety to take a closer look.

Find an agent to get answers to questions about teen driving and GDL laws.

Smart discounts for teen drivers

From being a safe driver to learning about defensive driving, there are many ways you can save when adding a new driver to your policy.

See teen discounts

Related Resources:

Agents are Here to Help Near
Coverages and discounts are subject to availability and qualifications. Other terms, conditions and exclusions may apply.

GDL requirements provided for informational purposes only. State requirements vary by state and may change from time to time. Check with the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety if you have questions about current state requirements.

1"Graduated Driver Licensing." Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 23 Apr. 2010. Web. 18 June 2013.

2Further restrictions or details may apply. Please visit Insurance Institute for Highway Safety for more information.
ECC Monitor: OK