Back to top


Graduated Driver Licensing laws in Missouri

Helping young drivers become safe drivers

Car crashes are the number one killer of teens in the nation1. But with the right training and education, you can help lower your teen's risk. Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws, like learner's permits, exist to help teen drivers develop skills and experience before receiving their official license. Allstate is committed to protecting your young driver, and to encouraging every state to adopt these safety standards.

A teenage driver smiles as she sits behind the wheel of her car.

Get an auto quote.

Drive with quality coverage on your side. Allstate auto insurance can help you stay protected on the road.

Get a quote
State Map

You're looking at GDL requirements in Missouri. Pick another state to see requirements in:

Missouri Graduated Driver Licensing Provisions

 
 
Minimum age
15 years old
Learner stage duration
6 months
Required supervised driving hours
40 hours, 10 of which must be at night
Nighttime driving restriction
1 a.m. to 5 a.m.
Passenger restriction
(family members are exempt unless otherwise noted)
No more than 1 passenger under 19 years old during the first 6 months;
No more than 3 passengers under 19 years old thereafter
Minimum age for full-privilege driving
entire intermediate stage


Learn more about teen driving and GDL laws from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety's GDL laws. Have questions about your state? Get info on Missouri licensing requirements and teen driving in Missouri.

Taking action for teen safety

GDL laws are a great way to prepare young drivers for the road, but you can do even more to keep your teen safe. If you're looking for a car fit for your teen, make sure to consider safety ratings. You can find information on vehicle safety ratings and features from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.

Contact an agent for more information on safe driving for your teen.

Young drivers get good discounts.

Allstate constantly works to help you find new ways to save. When adding a teen to your policy, there are many discounts you and your family can benefit from.

See teen discounts

Related Resources:

Agents are Here to Help Near
Coverages and discounts are subject to availability and qualifications. Other terms, conditions and exclusions may apply.

GDL requirements provided for informational purposes only. State requirements vary by state and may change from time to time. Check with the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety if you have questions about current state requirements.

1"Graduated Driver Licensing." Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 23 Apr. 2010. Web. 18 June 2013.

2Further restrictions or details may apply. Please visit Insurance Institute for Highway Safety for more information.
ECC Monitor: OK