Back to top
  Try Smart Search An intelligent search tool to help you find the info you're looking for. Try it now
< Start Over Welcome to Smart Search Quickly locate tools, tips, resources, insurance information and more. Smart Search For example: car insurance tips or common claims Popular Searches


Graduated Driver Licensing laws in Delaware

Safety first for teen drivers

More freedom means bigger responsibility for your teen. Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws are designed to help young drivers gain skills and experience before gaining full driving privileges. It's important to discuss these laws with your teen, as research has shown GDL laws can reduce crash rates among 16-year-old drivers by almost 43%1.

A teenage driver smiles as she sits behind the wheel of her car.

Get an auto quote.

Drive with quality coverage on your side. Allstate auto insurance can help you stay protected on the road.

Get a quote
State Map

You're looking at GDL requirements in Delaware. Pick another state to see requirements in:

Delaware Graduated Driver Licensing Provisions

 
 
Minimum age
16 years old2
Learner stage duration
6 months2
Required supervised driving hours
50 hours, 10 of which must be at night2
Nighttime driving restriction
10 p.m. to 6 a.m.2
Passenger restriction
(family members are exempt unless otherwise noted)
No more than 1 passenger2
Minimum age for full-privilege driving
6 months or the issuance of a class D license (min. age: 17)


Still have questions about teen driving or GDL laws? See the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety's GDL laws, learn more about Delaware licensing requirements and teen driving in Delaware.

Set your teen up for safety.

GDL laws are a great start, but you can do even more to help keep your teen safe. If you're car shopping for your young driver, make sure to notice high safety ratings. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety can help you learn about vehicle safety ratings and features.

Contact an agent for more information about insuring your teen driver and what that could mean for your limits and deductibles.

Teen driver discount

Adding a new driver to your auto policy means getting new opportunities to save. From being a great student to practicing safe driving, there are many discounts to explore.

See teen discounts

Related Resources:

Agents are Here to Help Near
Coverages and discounts are subject to availability and qualifications. Other terms, conditions and exclusions may apply.

GDL requirements provided for informational purposes only. State requirements vary by state and may change from time to time. Check with the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety if you have questions about current state requirements.

1"Graduated Driver Licensing." Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 23 Apr. 2010. Web. 18 June 2013.

2Further restrictions or details may apply. Please visit Insurance Institute for Highway Safety for more information.
";
ECC Monitor: OK