Allstate customer reading a map of the United States

South Carolina

Auto Insurance Coverages

With so many companies offering auto insurance in South Carolina, how do you choose the car insurance that's right for you? Regardless of where you live in South Carolina, Allstate offers a wide variety of auto insurance policies, optional insurance coverages and other products for South Carolina drivers. As your auto insurance needs change, your local Allstate agent will take the time to help you make the right choices. If you have a teen driver, there are many other considerations your local Allstate agent can also help you with. Refer to the SC Graduated Driver Licensing chart below for more information.

For more information on this state, visit the South Carolina State Information or South Carolina State Catastrophe page.

South Carolina Auto Insurance Coverage Scale

Allstate can help you decide how much auto insurance coverage is right for you. Each state, including South Carolina, has different minimum required auto insurance coverage levels, as shown in the chart below. Use this chart to learn more about South Carolina's required coverage levels and the most common car insurance coverages.

Coverage
State Requirements
Most Common
Bodily Injury Liability
25,000/50,000*
100,000/300,000
Property Damage Liability
25,000*
25,000
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury
25,000/50,000*
15,000/30,000
Medical Expense Benefits
Not required*
2,000
Collision
Not required*
250 deductible
Comprehensive
Not required*
250 deductible
Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
Not required*
25,000/50,000

South Carolina Graduated Driver Licensing

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws are one of the few things that have been proven to save teen lives. South Carolina has its own variation of these laws that both you and your teen should be familiar with them. You may want to discuss the South Carolina GDL laws with your teen and use them as a foundation for rules you set for your teen driver.

Minimum Entry Age
(Optimal: 16)
15
Extended Learner Period
(Optimal: at least 6 months)
Has the provision
Parent Certification
(Optimal: 30 hours minimal)
Has no provision
Night Restriction
(Optimal: 9 or 10 p.m.)
Has optimal provision
Passenger Restriction
(Optimal: No teenager passengers or
only one-family excepted)
Has no provision
but it is not optimal
Minimum exit age/ Minimum age at which
restrictions are lifted(Optimal: 18)
16 years, 6 mo.

Get more information and learn about teen driving research, facts, tips, driving laws, and teen driving programs.

Click here to get an auto insurance quote. Or, you can call 1-866-621-6900 to quote over the phone.

Click on the state listed below to learn more about teen driving rules and insurance coverages in that state.
Florida, Hawaii, Georgia, North Carolina, Tennessee

Coverage limits/deductibles identified as "most common" in the chart above are the most popular limits/deductibles selected by Allstate Insurance Company policyholders in South Carolina. Please note state minimums may change from time to time. Check with your state if you have additional questions about current state minimum.
Start a Quote Now
Start a Quote Now
Enter ZIP Code
Rates and insurance options (and their availability) vary according to your state's regulations.
Why are we asking for your Zip Code?

Rates and insurance options (and their availability) vary according to your state's regulations.

Type of Insurance
Find an Agent
Find an Agent
Customer Log In
Customer Log In
AdChoices
ECC Monitor: OK